20 Canes land on all-region football team

Posted 11/7/18

It was fitting that the Region 5-AAAA football team was released Tuesday after voting by the league's coaches. The election day announcement was highlighted by 20 Cartersville players landing on the …

This item is available in full to subscribers.

Please log in to continue

Log in

Don't have an ID?

Print subscribers

If you're a print subscriber, but do not yet have an online account, click here to create one.


Click here to see your options for becoming a subscriber.

20 Canes land on all-region football team


It was fitting that the Region 5-AAAA football team was released Tuesday after voting by the league's coaches. The election day announcement was highlighted by 20 Cartersville players landing on the all-region team.

Nearly half of those honorees came on the first team, and even more impressively, only nine were seniors. However, Cartersville, which won the region title following another undefeated regular season, didn't secure any of the five superlative honors.

Quarterback Tee Webb, running back Marcus Gary and tight end Jackson Lowe were all first-team selections.

According to Cartersville offensive stats posted to MaxPreps, Webb enters the playoffs with 2,153 passing yards and 28 total touchdowns. The junior has 25 passing touchdowns to six interceptions.

Gary, a senior, has racked up 1,093 offensive yards, including 859 rushing, in nine games. He has 15 total touchdowns on the season.

A senior commit to Tennessee, Lowe leads the Canes in receptions (26) and yards (361). He's in a five-way tie for first in receiving touchdowns with three.

The Canes had a pair of first-teamers on each side of the line of scrimmage in offensive linemen Matthew Surrett and Jonah Gambill and defensive linemen Bobby Harris and La'Kwayme Jupiter.

Harris has put up monster numbers in his senior year, totaling 39 tackles, 15.5 tackles for loss and five sacks. Jupiter has plugged the middle while picking up 26 tackles, including four for loss, according to defensive stats provided by the team.

Linebacker Sunni Moorehead and safety Marko Dudley rounded out the first-team honorees. Moorehead is second on the team with 60 tackles. The senior has been a constant presence in the opposing backfield, piling up 16 tackles for loss and 2.5 sacks. Dudley, a junior, has 43 tackles on the season.

Despite not having any wide receivers on the first team, Cartersville had a duo garner second-team nods in seniors Kaleb Chatmon and Dadrian Dennis. Senior offensive lineman Andrew Thompson was also tabbed for the second team.

Dennis is second to Lowe with 25 receptions and 330 yards through the air. Chatmon is one of the several Canes with three receiving touchdowns. He also has 23 catches for 304 yards.

One player from each level of the defense also earned second-team selection — defensive lineman Isaiah Chaney, linebacker Harrison Allen and defensive back Marquail Coaxum.

Despite missing several games, Chaney, a senior committed to Wake Forest, has 13 tackles, 2.5 tackles for loss and 1.5 sacks. Just a sophomore, Allen is Cartersville's leading tackler with 77 stops on the season. Coaxum, who also contributes at wide receiver, has posted 29 tackles and two interceptions.

A majority of the Canes' honorable mention nods also came from the smothering defense that has allowed just one team to put up more than 10 points in game this season.

Linebackers Amarai Orr and Tristan Carlton were selected, as were defensive back Evan Slocum and offensive lineman Blake Woods.

Orr has been a revelation since becoming a regular. The sophomore has 44 tackles, including eight for loss, and has caused five turnovers with three forced fumbles and two interceptions.

Sophomore Devonte Ross had the rare distinction of being named honorable mention at two positions — wide receiver and defensive back. Offensively, Ross has 306 yards receiving on 15 receptions and three touchdowns. On defense, he's had 27 tackles.

The honored Canes and the rest of the Cartersville football team will open the Class 4A state playoffs against Stephens County on Friday at Weinman Stadium.