Georgia Public Health Association recognizes six Bartow residents
by Marie Nesmith
May 04, 2013 | 2398 views | 0 0 comments | 11 11 recommendations | email to a friend | print
From mental health advocacy to implementing a Tobacco Free Campus policy, six Bartow Countians recently were recognized for their work in the public health field. The local residents were highlighted during the 2013 Georgia Public Health Association Awards Luncheon in Atlanta April 23.

“Bartow County public health employees and advocates have a history of exceptional service to their community and its citizens,” said Northwest Georgia Public Health’s Dr. Wade Sellers in a statement to The Daily Tribune News. “Having six Bartow County residents recognized by GPHA for public health service is certainly exceptional, too. A community that produces public health innovation and excellence of the order reflected by these awards should be proud of both the individual and collective achievement.”

The local award winners included:

• Cathy Green, Primary Health Care Leadership Award. The Bartow County Public Health nurse manager was recognized in particular for her work with Bartow Health Access, Behavioral and Emotional Health Resources Committee and implementing health screenings and education for Bartow County government employees.

“It was an honor to receive the award but I accepted it on behalf of all those in the community that have worked on bringing primary health care to Bartow because it’s not the action of any one single person,” Green said. “It’s definitely a collaborative effort in our community. ... Certainly it was an honor that they did recognize Bartow and the collaborative effort that it takes to bring primary health care to Bartow.

“It was really great to see that many from Bartow honored. I guess there’s about 17 awards and for Bartow to receive six of them, that was indeed an honor. So we’re definitely proud and I think every one of them you would talk to would tell you it’s not a single action of any of us on any of our parts, that it really is a true collaborative effort.”

• Peggy Martin, Fred Agel Governance Award. A member of the Bartow County Board of Health since 2008, Martin also is heavily involved with the Georgia Public Health Association and National Association of the Local Boards of Health. An advocate for numerous health issues, she was highlighted for her work with the Allatoona Community Coalition.

• Lisa Greeby, Kathy Miner Health Education and Promotion Award. A program consultant in the Northwest Georgia Health District, Greeby has helped nine school systems implement the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s 100 percent Tobacco Free Campus policy. The systems, which include 117 school campuses, enroll a total of 84,640 students.

According to the GPHA’s awards program, “While promoting Tobacco Free Campus, Lisa educated the school superintendents of each school system. Lisa also took the opportunity to meet with the County Board’s of Health and as a result, seven of the [10] County Board’s of Health in Northwest Georgia Health District has adopted a Tobacco Free Campus policy. Plus, all the hospitals in District 1.1 have implemented the Tobacco Free Campus policy, and two colleges have been recognized by the Department of Public Health Tobacco Prevention office for adopting the model Tobacco Free Campus policy, due in large to Lisa Greeby’s tireless efforts.”

• Paul Newell and Cynthia Wainscott, Behavioral Health Worker of the Year Award. GPHA’s data reveals the Behavioral and Emotional Health Resources Committee in Bartow County “originated from Paul and Cynthia’s initial work with Bartow Health Access [BHA], which is dedicated to providing resources for those with a serious lack of access to primary medical care, medications and other health care services. The success of BHA quickly revealed gaps in the array of services available for the mentally ill in the Bartow County community. Paul and Cynthia led a special committee to conduct a needs assessment. Their work spearheaded key stakeholders to convene and develop a two year strategic planning with specific goals.

“... BEHR organized community leaders to successfully advocate for the funding and establishment of a Peer Support, Wellness and Respite Center in Bartow. BEHR also held mental health first aid training for public health nurses and [25] other community members. BEHR has recently celebrated the opening of [a] new freestanding mental health crisis stabilization unit on the campus of the Cartersville Medical Center. This unit helps take the pressure off of the emergency rooms and offers the clients specialized care with a well-trained staff.”

• Libby McGill, Office Personnel Outstanding Service Award. McGill supervises the financial resources for various Northwest Georgia Health District programs, such as WIC, SOCK Project, TANF, Ryan White, Floyd Regional Dental Clinic and the Floyd Board of Health Budget. Her recognition highlighted her work with the Floyd Regional Dental Clinic, with GPHA stating she “independently assumed responsibility for providing technical guidance and support to promote better utilization of financial resources for the Floyd Regional Dental Clinic. As a result of this dedication and work with the Oral Health Team, many children, pregnant women and adults are now receiving comprehensive oral health care in a state of the art facility.”