CCBOE has short agenda for Monday’s meeting


With school just now getting started, the Cartersville City School Board’s agenda for Monday night’s meeting is short.

At the work session Thursday night, board members took a look at the agenda, which includes five items on the consent agenda, approval of four personnel issues and a few reports from committees, department heads and principals.

“We don’t have a lot of real big business for this meeting, and that’s a good thing,” Superintendent Dr. Howard Hinesley said.

The superintendent will request ratification of the low quote of $17,683.42 from Rush Truck Center of Georgia in Atlanta to repair a bus engine.

He also will recommend approving a rental request from Stingrays of Cartersville to use the high school’s Storm Center gym and P.E. gym on Nov. 18 from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m. for a cheer exhibition. The fee waiver request is in exchange for the high school’s gymnastics and cheer students using the Stingrays’ facilities.

“We have a trade with the Stingrays,” Hinesley said. “We use their facilities for our gymnastics meets, and the cheerleaders practice over there so this is a trade-off.”

The superintendent will recommend appointing the following school system employees and retired employees to serve on disciplinary tribunal hearings for the 2016-17 school year: Gina Bishop, Katie Vaughan, Denise Osborn, Melissa White, Becky Bryant, Ken MacKenzie, Tharis Word, Debra Malone, Marc Feuerbach, Darrell Demastus, Shelley Tierce, Marc Collier, Susan Fields, Kelly Hopkins, Brett Opaleski, Ruthie Jones, Susan Hatfield, Alli Smith, Wendy Ross, Lisa Carter, Jennifer Lawson, Leighanne Young, Paige Robbins, Jessica Bunce, Tonya Wells, Melanie Paige, Dustin Ross, Susan Topham, Brandi Gainor, Emma James, Jorie Wright, Marjorie Patton, Tracey Harwood, Scott Busby, Jennifer Turem, Cindy Benefield, Natalie Carr, Tricia Burdick, Rhonda Becker, Sharon Hooper, Rachel Phillips, Kate DeBoard, Kenya Ash, Julie Merwanji, Jennifer Rives, Pearlie Turner, Don Goode, Brad Burel, Ric Poe, Laura Huth, Heather Hayes, Cheri Edwards, Russ Schmidt, Omar Nunez, Cissi Adams, Lindsey Montgomery, Ashley Chupp, Randi Sonenshine, Sarah Belisle, Michelle Cottongim, Michelle Gambill, Angie Roper, Beth Cauthen, David Cagle, Linda Templeton, Kenya Rowser, Kyle Tucker, Jennilyn Hawn, Tish Terry, Valerie Webb, Debbie Justus, Ketrina Jordan, Missy Hensley, Rebecca Bullock, Melissa Moore, Cindy Moore, Phillip Hardy, Chad Murray, Audra Saunders, Susan Tolbert, Annabel Rodriquez, Bibby Morgan and Ken Clouse.

Finance Committee Chairwoman Kelley Dial reported that the board received $378,548.97 for its monthly Special Purpose Local Option Sales Tax check, “which is improving, although still a bit, just a bit, lower than what we had this time last year.”

“But it seems to be an upward trend so we’re happy for that,” she said.

Hinesley will make the following personnel recommendations:

• Hiring Megan S. Houston as a teacher.

• Demoting Angeline McDowell from school nutrition assistant manager at the primary school to school nutrition assistant, effective July 18.

• Promoting Cindy Castleberry from school nutrition assistant to school nutrition assistant manager at the primary school, effective July 28.

• Hiring Margaret Brown as a speech language pathology aide, effective Aug. 9.

The regular monthly meeting will be Monday at 6 p.m. in the central office board room at 15 Nelson St.