Canes nominated, but lose out to Falcons at Atlanta Sports Awards

The Atlanta Sports Council honored the area’s best athletes and teams Thursday during its 12th annual Atlanta Sports Awards ceremony at The Rialto Center for the Arts at Georgia State University.

While the Cartersville High football team did not pick up any hardware, the Canes were a finalist for Team of the Year, one of the eight honors awarded during the event.

The Atlanta Falcons were the winners of the Team of the Year award, and Falcons and Atlanta United owner Arthur Blank was honored as the recipient of the 2017 Lifetime Achievement Award as well.

The Falcons cleaned up the honors at the banquet, as Dan Quinn was named the Coach of the Year, Matt Ryan was named the Professional Athlete of the Year and the Falcons’ NFC Championship game win over the Packers was the Moment of the Year.

Georgia’s Nick Chubb was named the Collegiate Athlete of the Year, Buford High volleyball player Gabby Curry was named the High School Athlete of the Year and Craig Sager was honored posthumously with the Community Spirit Award.

Along with the Canes and Falcons, the other nominee for the Team of the Year was the McEachern High School girls basketball team.

“We are proud to celebrate tonight’s winners who represent the best Atlanta sports has to offer on the high school, collegiate and professional levels,” said Dan Corso, president of the Atlanta Sports Council, in a release. “We were thrilled to honor Atlanta’s champions and championship moments.”

back to top

What Do You Think?