Advance voting begins across Bartow County
by Jason Lowrey
Oct 29, 2013 | 1471 views | 0 0 comments | 13 13 recommendations | email to a friend | print
As the Nov. 5 election approaches, Bartow County voters can now go to their local city halls, or the Bartow County Elections & Registration office at 105 N. Bartow St., Cartersville, to cast their ballot in local elections.

However, Assistant Elections Supervisor Cheryl Billiard said any voter who is eligible to vote in the State Senate District 14 race must do their advanced voting at the elections office or the Cartersville Civic Center.

An additional exception is for White voters. Any White voter who wishes to cast a ballot on the two alcohol-related issues on the ballot must vote at White City Hall, as the city is conducting the special election. For more information on the White ballot and voting, contact City Manager Jane Richards at 770-382-5466.

Advance voting, which began Monday, will run 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. until Friday. After that date, voters must wait until Nov. 5 to cast a ballot. In the meantime, Billiard urged voters to go to the polls early.

“That offers people an opportunity to kind of vote on a more flexible schedule than the 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on election day,” she said. “Anytime we can encourage more turnout we want to do that, so definitely take advantage of voting for your city elections and your cities.”

Voters will make a decision on the following competitive races:

• Adairsville City Council Post 3: Kenneth “K.C.” Carson, Lee Castro and incumbent Connie Morrow

• Cartersville City Council Ward 3: Valerie Holt and incumbent Louis E. Tonsmeire Sr.

• Emerson City Council at-large seats: Donnie Bagwell, incumbent Edward D. Brush and incumbent Brenda Fouts Tidwell

• Euharlee mayor: Incumbent Kathy S. Foulk and Dennis J. Thayer

• Euharlee City Council at-large seats: Sammy L. Carden, Ronald D. Nesbitt, David Stout and Joseph “Jo-Jo” Turner

• Kingston Mayor: incumbent Ronald Casey, Wanda Penson and Jeanette Perkins-Graves

• Kingston City Council Post 4: Michael C. Abernathy, incumbent Ed Miklas and Vivian Shaw

• White: Sunday alcohol sales and sales by the drink

For more information, contact the Bartow County Elections & Registration office at 770-387-5098.